Morgantown landlord Walden has history of harassment

After hearing about Morgantown landlord Gary Walden being charged with entering without breaking and conspiracy, I decided to do some more research.

In April 2006, a renter, Stacie Summers, sued Walden for sexual harassment. Summers claimed that Gary Walden “repeatedly fondled her breasts and unfairly raised her rent.”

In February 2008, Gary Walden was charged with sexually harassing tenants. He was forced to pay $175,000 to his victims and was barred from contacting his tenants for eight years, which would end in 2016.

EDIT: 2/24/12 – Walden settled the sexual harassment lawsuit, so he was not charged.

In September 2008, four women testified that after Gary Walden was barred from having contact from tenants, that he visited their rental units unannounced, and harassed one over the original complaint against him. Tenants claimed he “continued to ask for sexual favors and harass them.

In October 2008, Gary Walden’s wife, Tina Walden, told the Human Rights Commission that “he is distancing himself from the family’s rental business and concentrating on manufactured housing.”

I found some reviews of the Waldens’ properties on DubVLandlords.com. There are only six reviews, but all are negative. I’m not presenting these as fact, as they are anonymous. Two posts, which were were made in 2011 and 2010, claim that Gary Walden entered their apartments while they were sleeping. (Click reviews to enlarge.)

This one goes into some more detail, but again claims that Walden entered the apartment without any notice.

Walden’s properties are registered with the city under Tina Walden. Tina is also listed as a defendant in his 2006 sexual harassment case.

The Waldens have approximately 10 properties registered within Morgantown city limits, which are listed on the city’s website. Their properties are located on Richwood Avenue, Sabraton Alley, Fife Street, Beverly Avenue, Mason Street and Pennsylvania Avenue. It’s possible that they own several more properties that are outside of city limits in Sabraton, Westover, etc., but I can’t reach city officials because it is past 5 p.m. I’m going to make some calls tomorrow to find out more.

– Leann

4 thoughts on “Morgantown landlord Walden has history of harassment

  1. The bigger question to be asked here is Why was Gary Walden never required to register with the State of WV as a Sexual Offender? I have personally asked this question to several law enforcement officers, lawyers, etc., and have NEVER got a straight answer. If I was an out of state parent, sending my daughter to school at WVU, I think I would want to have this iinformation before my child rented from this predator.

  2. Several years ago the City of Morgantown passed a series of rental laws requiring landlords to have regular inspections, fire escapes, smoke detectors, parking for their tenants, etc.. Instead of bringing his units up to new rental standards, he simply sold most of his properties in Morgantown city limits and started buying up all the dilapidated homes in Westover to start again.

  3. I rent from Tina and have never even seen this Gary guy. Her sons are around, but they’ve always been nice to me and my female roommate. I’d say the house I rent is about on par with Morgantown standards (which means it’s not a luxury resort or anything, but it ain’t bad).

    It’s possible that they’ve cleaned up their act on account of all the trouble, but I have only been here a couple months. I think Tina is okay by me. Hopefully time won’t prove me wrong.

Leave a comment